Ghana & Kenya

Overview

INFORMAS in Ghana is run by Dr Amos Laar (with support from Dr. Richmond Aryeetey, Ms. Akua Tandoh, and Amy Barnes/Kristin Bash)

INFORMAS in Kenya is run by Drs Elizabeth Kimani-Murage and Stella Muthuri (with support from Amy Barnes/Kristin Bash)

INFORMAS is a component of two research projects which are led by Prof Michelle Holdsworth

INFORMAS training will be undertaken for both Ghana/Kenya in September by Stefanie Vandevijvere, so we are yet to start the process. The data collection and analysis will begin in autumn 2017, finishing in October 2018. The report to stakeholders and write up of publications will be November 2018-January 2019.

Ghanaian Team

Dr Amos Laar

Senior Lecturer

Department of Population, Family & Reproductive Health,

School of Public Health, University of Ghana, Legon, Accra, Ghana.

Phone: +233244982176

E-mail: alaar@ug.edu.gh


Dr Richmond Aryeetey

Senior Lecturer

Department of Population, Family & Reproductive Health,

School of Public Health, University of Ghana, Legon, Accra, Ghana.

Phone: +233261128506

E-mail: raryeetey@ug.edu.gh


Ms. Akua Tandoh

Principal Research Assistant on ‘Dietary Transitions in Ghanaian Cites’ Project, Department of Population, Family & Reproductive Health,

School of Public Health, University of Ghana, Legon, Accra, Ghana.

Phone: +233200784676

E-mail:atandoh@hm2r.org


Kenyan Team

Dr Elizabeth Kimani-Murage

Research Scientist

Maternal and Child Wellbeing Unit

African Population and Health Research Center, Nairobi, Kenya

Phone: +254(20)400-1000

Email: ekimani@aphrc.org


Dr Stella Muthuri

Associate Research Scientist

Health Systems for Health Unit

African Population and Health Research Center, Nairobi, Kenya

Phone: +254(20)400-1000

Email: smuthuri@aphrc.org


Dr Amy Barnes

Lecturer in Public Health (Policy)

School of Health and Related Research (ScHARR)-Public Health Section

The University of Sheffield, Sheffield, UK

Phone: (0044)114- 222-0875

Email: a.barnes@sheffield.ac.uk


Kristin Bash

Kristin Bash

Honorary Lecturer in Public Health

School of Health and Related Research (ScHARR)-Public Health Section

The University of Sheffield, Sheffield, UK

Phone: (0044)796-476-8082

Email: k.bash@sheffield.ac.uk


Professor Michelle Holdsworth

Professor Michelle Holdsworth

Professor of Public Health

School of Health and Related Research (ScHARR)-Public Health Section

The University of Sheffield, Sheffield, UK

Phone: (0044)114- 222-0723

Email: Michelle.holdsworth@sheffield.ac.uk

Not available currently.

None currently

Additional Publications

  • This research in Ghana is part of the ‘Dietary Transitions in Ghanaian Cites’ project, which is supported by the Drivers of Food Choice (DFC) Competitive Grants Programs, which is funded by the UK Government’s Department for International Development and the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, and managed by the University of South Carolina, Arnold School of Public Health, USA.
  • The research in Kenya is part of the TACLED project: Transitions in African Cities Leveraging Evidence for Diet-related NCDs funded by a GCRF-MRC led Foundation Award.
Skip to toolbar